Archive:GuildWiki/User talk:Tanaric/Archives4

From Complaint Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

build copyvio[edit]

what does that mean? are builds copywrited now, or is this a policy related to the builds wipe?--Honorable Sarah Image:Honorable Icon.gif 19:37, 7 May 2007 (CDT)

By United States law, all content produced by anyone anywhere is always copyrighted, but that's not really the problem here. The builds Auron and I have been deleting are those which did not copy over the article history, thus violating the attribution clause of our Creative Commons license. —Tanaric 04:25, 8 May 2007 (CDT)

reply from anet?[edit]

Have you got the reply from anet about the screenshots yet? -- Xeon 20:23, 7 May 2007 (CDT)

I got one saying they're looking into it, but they have yet to reach a decision. —Tanaric 04:27, 8 May 2007 (CDT)
still nothing from them? -- Xeon 00:19, 16 May 2007 (CDT)

Rabies Build Edits[edit]

Thanks for the edits to tidy up those build pages of mine. Never noticed the issue when I was furiously adding those pages on the 30th. How did you stumble upon those pages btw? Just curious... I never am able to find anything on people's userpages. Hopefully they are useful to you and not just an editing task :) — RabiesTurtle (contribs) 20:38, 7 May 2007 (CDT)

I think it was just from Special:Recentchanges. You can search a particular user space via Special:Allpages. --Ab.Er.Rant Template:N (msg Aberrant80) 20:46, 7 May 2007 (CDT)
Three of the updates he did were today, and no one had edited those pages for over a week... so not in recent changes. He might have searched just my userspace, but I was just seeing. — RabiesTurtle (contribs) 21:01, 7 May 2007 (CDT)
I'm using the old build categories, like Tested Builds. When you copied the articles over, you left the category tags in, and since I need to remove the tags as part of the builds wipe anyway, I might as well add pre tags where appropriate. —Tanaric 04:28, 8 May 2007 (CDT)
Hmmm, That is odd... I thought I had removed all the categories. Plus your edits haven't shown any of those changes, and have only been on the talk pages. Ah, did the talk page somehow have it as a category listing by the history I put? — RabiesTurtle (contribs) 09:53, 8 May 2007 (CDT)
Oh, yes, they did. Adding pre tags around the history pages prevented the categories from being considered. —Tanaric 12:43, 8 May 2007 (CDT)

Archiving[edit]

lol, you complained at fyren at his loooooooooooooooong talk page, yours is getting quite big too IMO. —SigmA 19px 10:53, 8 May 2007 (CDT)

Not anymore :P Lord of all tyria 12:48, 8 May 2007 (CDT)

Auron[edit]

Why did you promote Auron? I would like to record a belated objection to his promotion. I am getting complaints about him all the way in my hiatus from the wiki. I would like to ask you to reconsider because he has always shown this kind of temperment and disrespect for others. He was even a member of the group that taunted the user, one of the offenses that cost Skuld his adminship. This one is a poor move from the get go. --Karlos 04:42, 11 May 2007 (CDT)

Biro appointed Auron, not me. That said, I requested his appointment, so I'll still address your issues. I had noticed a marked improvement in Auron's behavior since his first RfA, and I'd begun to speak with him privately. I believe he possesses the qualities necessary to be a sysop. That said, I also agree that he's off to a shaky start. I am keeping a close eye on him, as I do all newly-appointed sysops; if he convinces me that he's unsuitable, I'll revoke sysop privileges immediately.
Since the Skuld issue, I'm determined to be more proactive in trying to shape a sysop instead of merely deciding they're unsuitable and removing them -- I did Skuld a great disservice, and I'm determined not to repeat myself.
Tanaric 08:13, 11 May 2007 (CDT)
I respectfuly disagree. I don't think you can teach someone to be kinder/more considerate if their nature is to disregard others. Skuld will be a great admin anywhere with time and experience, he is/was too young in my opinion. Auron is genuinely disrespectful of others. The way he addressed Sarah is extremely troubling to me. It shows a great amount of resentment/contempt for the value of Sarah as a contributor. And for him to say to her in her face shows a great amount of contempt for her person as well. Just a very troubling sign. --Karlos 08:24, 11 May 2007 (CDT)
You have a good point. That said, Xasxas, Gares, and I have admonished Auron about that particular situation on his talk page. If it occurs again, I'll have to adopt your stance, but until then, I'd like to retain him. Based on what I've seen so far, I think Auron merely dislikes User:Honorable Sarah, which I can completely understand (though I don't condone his expression of it) based on their diametrically opposed edits. —Tanaric 08:32, 11 May 2007 (CDT)
The secondary proffesion articles are just plain trouble. It's always someone's opinion vs the other which leads to arguements, and frankly the information is totally useless ;it's basically a state the obvious bunch of articles. Solus 19px 08:40, 11 May 2007 (CDT)

User:Frvwfr2/Team:Healer/Bonders[edit]

This page was deleted by you... It was not a copy of any builds. I had custom made it. Could you restore it please? Thanks. --User:Frvwfr2 frvwfr2 (talk)(contributions) 07:29, 11 May 2007 (CDT)

Done. Sorry about that! —Tanaric 08:14, 11 May 2007 (CDT)
Thanks for the speedy reply... --User:Frvwfr2 frvwfr2 (talk)(contributions) 08:22, 11 May 2007 (CDT)

Haha :P[edit]

Template:Sysop entry
Username Talk page Wiki-mail External contact details Usual hours (GMT) Location Last active Preferred duties

The last line made me laugh :P —SigmA 19px 15:21, 23 May 2007 (CDT)

I strive for accuracy in all my edits. :) —Tanaric 15:22, 23 May 2007 (CDT)

Can you move the char/title templates into actual templates?[edit]

Hi Tanaric. I've been trying to use the /Character and /TitleList templates and it's been frankly horrific. There are a LOT of sub-pages on your user space that are inter-connected to the design. Each title has a subpage under the /Title tree and then there's good old NavFrame. Right now, it's like this wonderful utility that only works if you install it in:

c:\my documents\Tanaric\some wacky ideas\guild wars wiki\user character display

Not very user friendly. :P --Karlos 16:25, 24 May 2007 (CDT)

I don't mean to speak on Tanaric's behalf, but I believe he was planning to implement them as proper templates once he had them all finished. <LordBiro>/<Talk> 16:32, 24 May 2007 (CDT)
Hmmm, I was under the impression he was done. Can we move it into the template space anyways, even if not all titles are supported yet. I think it's just cleaner to build it there. --Karlos 17:19, 24 May 2007 (CDT)
Done, though I did not move /Character, as I believe it's too user-specific. The title displayers and title list templates are all now in template-space. Check GuildWiki:Displaying titles and Category:Title templates for more information.
If you want to use character, you must simply copy /Character, /NavFrame, and /Icon into your own user space. Alternatively, you can simply make redirects from User:Karlos/Character to User:Tanaric/Character etc.
Tanaric 18:29, 24 May 2007 (CDT)

Grand Court masters[edit]

You up for it? -Auron My Talk 00:14, 25 May 2007 (CDT)

Already got it. Getting a couple lightbringer ranks first made it ridiculously easy. —Tanaric 00:14, 25 May 2007 (CDT)

Requesting another admin to review[edit]

Can you take a look at Tomb and the talk page? A DEL tag was added by Skuld, I removed it, then he re-inserted it. Rather than getting into a revert war, I wanted to ask someone else to review. --- Barek (talkcontribs) - 11:08, 31 May 2007 (CDT)

Char picture on user page[edit]

Hi, I've been trying for a couple of hours to put a picture of my char on my talk page, without succeeding. Since I'm not english native speaker, there might be a few things I don't understand to make it troublelessly. You can find my first try on my talk page, and a pic on User:Fexghadi/Account, so if you don't mind explaining me how to join both, I'd be grateful. -- Fexghadi 11:50, 31 May 2007 (CDT)

I've fixed your user page. Things I did:
  1. Created redirect from User:Fexghadi/Character to User:Tanaric/Character
  2. Created redirect from User:Fexghadi/NavFrame to User:Tanaric/NavFrame
  3. Created redirect from User:Fexghadi/Icon to User:Tanaric/Icon
  4. On User:Fexghadi, changed 'class = m' to 'class = me', assuming you're a Mesmer. If that's a monk, change it to 'class = mo'
  5. On User:Fexghadi, changed 'name = Character-Celes Chere V1' to 'name = Celes Chere V1'
  6. On User:Fexghadi, changed the TitleList invocation to match the template. Notably, you don't need to include entries for title tracks based on other title tracks -- the template figures them out for you automatically.
If you have any more questions, please let me know. :)
Tanaric 19:15, 31 May 2007 (CDT)
I changed it from me to mo for him. The character image shows a monk character. :P --Image:Gem-icon-sm.png (gem / talk) 03:06, 1 June 2007 (CDT)
Ok, now it worked... but still, I can't understand how, and I'm not just gonna disturb you everytime I'm making changes to that page, right?
Pleasure to see you back Gem ^_^ -- Fexghadi 03:29, 1 June 2007 (CDT)
Thanks, Gem; you can see how often I play Guild Wars. :)
Fexghadi, the Character, NavFrame, and Icon templates are my personal creations. For you to use them, you need a copy in your own userspace. The redirects I created provide that for you.
As far as the TitleList template, you can see what parameters it takes at Template:TitleList.
You can ask me any questions you want, I certainly don't mind!
Tanaric 04:15, 1 June 2007 (CDT)
I'll give it a try this evening, when I'm back home, thx for thehelp already -- Fexghadi 05:20, 1 June 2007 (CDT)
What do you mean by 'welcome back'? I'm viewing the wiki every day multiple times. Well ok, I have to admit that I mainly contribute to the official wiki nowdays, but still. --Image:Gem-icon-sm.png (gem / talk) 16:45, 1 June 2007 (CDT)
Just look at your user page ^^ -- Fexghadi 17:42, 1 June 2007 (CDT)
Yes? It's a redirect to my own in game quick references. And before that it had a message explaining why I was very pissed off, but I never stopped visiting the site. --Image:Gem-icon-sm.png (gem / talk) 04:00, 2 June 2007 (CDT)

Tanaric's story hour![edit]

Lol, thats pretty funny :P — Skuld 02:44, 6 June 2007 (CDT)

>.> I think god is telling you something...stop feedin the trolls! :P Readem (talk*contribs) 02:50, 6 June 2007 (CDT)

Ahaha! I love your interpretation, Readem! :) —Tanaric 03:03, 6 June 2007 (CDT)

Haha[edit]

sorry about that :D Vanessa 03:44, 6 June 2007 (CDT)

Ouch[edit]

Sorry about the house man... Glad ya didn't die. User:Frvwfr2 frvwfr2 (talk)(contributions) 18:36, 7 June 2007 (CDT)

You don't mean that! — Skuld 18:38, 7 June 2007 (CDT)

Random stuff[edit]

Is this lineon your user page still up to date: "Deletion based on formatting – Certain parts of the GuildWiki are currently deleting or squelching content based upon poor formatting, regardless of the information contained within. Editors should instead reformat the article—it's better for the GuildWiki in the long run."

And if you need some in game property, I'll be glad to part with some of mine. Gold, crafting materials, items, what ever you need atm. --Image:Gem-icon-sm.png (gem / talk) 06:06, 9 June 2007 (CDT)

I've updated that line, as I think the problem has lessened a bit since I originally posted that. However, it's still something I'm not fond of and I still think we should worry about it.
As far as in-game items go, I'm perpetually broke and will take anything you have excess of! I'll keep an eye out for you in-game, or, if you prefer, we can arrange a time to meet. Thanks so much!
Tanaric 07:42, 9 June 2007 (CDT)
Just whisper me when you see me in game and I can log in with my storage account to see what I've got. :) --Image:Gem-icon-sm.png (gem / talk) 15:53, 9 June 2007 (CDT)

That cancer discussion...[edit]

I generally agree with you that I am sick of people putting up ribbons to "support a cause" especially those BIG causes that everyone supports anyways and most of the time the ribbon is used to make the person feel better about themselves (like supporting the military, or breast cancer research or being proud to be an American), I find these very elitist and made to flat out make someone feel special about doing the right thing that everyone is supposed to do anyways.

However, I found that small remark you made in your final response about having "no sympathy" for those who do not check for some reason or another to be completely unwarranted and insensitive. I hope it was just an overzealous sweeping statement you made to send a point or something, not an actual thoguht out stand on the issue. It casts grave shadows on the earlier example of your friend who has breast cancer. Do you not feel sympathy for her if she discovered it late? Or if she discovered it early enough you feel she has the common cold?

There IS a level of poverty in THIS country, where mothers work two jobs and work hard and they do NOT want to find out they have breast cancer. They just don't spend the time every few days feeling for lumps in their bathroom. Then one day they find a lump and they are at an advanced stage. You can fault them all you want, but it would tell me you have simply not experienced their side of life. These are the people who need more cancer awareness and more access to treatment, not the yuppies and middle-class folks who spend their entire afternoons searching for lumps and worrying about their weight, but the people who do not have time to follow all the healthy practices and learn them.

Finally, in my opinion, you should always have sympathy for anyone diagnosed with cancer no matter how famous/easily detectable the cancer is... I just found that to be an excessively harsh statement. I lost my mother to breast cancer and I know she tried and tried, and I also know she suffered a lot... and I greatly took offense to that statement. --Karlos 15:49, 12 June 2007 (CDT)

I'm sorry for your loss, Karlos.
I did not intend my statement to come off as harsh as it may have, and I apologize for the offense I caused. I think any death from a preventable disease is a shame, and I think that anybody in that situation is in a pitiable state. I did not say that I have "no sympathy" for those who do not get immediately treated, only that I have less, in general. Every person is different and my blanket statement, by itself, was inappropriate without qualifiers.
I am greatly opposed to the yuppies who think it won't happen to them, don't bother checking, and then end up losing their breast or their life being depicted as heroes or saints. I should have said this the first time around, as that was where my ire was meant to be directed.
Tanaric 16:04, 12 June 2007 (CDT)
I come from a completely different paradigm where there is no such thing as a "preventable" death. I'm a religious person who firmly believes that God is involved in what goes in life and that we are in this life to be tested to prove our mettle. As such, the beginning and end of the test are two parameters that I believe are absolutely governed by God.
I'm a lot more concerned with the huge disparity between care given to financially comfortable people vs poor people. I think that fundamental health care should be equally available to all. I know first hand from the experiences of people I know here in the US that this is not true, at all.
Media depiction of people who suffer from adversity here in this country (whether they are lazy yuppies or not) is simply unrealistic. I can't stomach to watch it. It belittles the viewer's intelligence. --Karlos 08:59, 13 June 2007 (CDT)
You're more generous than I am. You say "it belittles the viewer's intelligence," whereas I'm inclined to say "it reflects the average viewer's intelligence." :)
I am not religious, so I have to ask -- if God is involved in the test that is the dying process, doesn't the lack of medical care available to poorer people suggest that God wants them to have a more challenging trial? (For the record, I'm not trying to belittle your views; I'm genuinely curious.)
Tanaric 09:27, 13 June 2007 (CDT)
I disagree that it reflects the viewer intelligence. In the end, media is about making money. This is the betrayal that took place somewhere in the 80s but was never announced to anyone. I think up to the 70s, the trend in TV news was similar to news papers, i.e. cover the "big" stories that the editors think the public should know about them and cover them as deligiently as possible and with as little bias as possible. It may have started fading by the 70s even, i am judging by archived news reports I see more than actual experience since I did not live in that era, but somwhere between 1970 and 1985 this shift happened.
The shift was that news used to be above ratings and sales. It was more of a service to the community, to alert them about the biggest local, national and international happenings. After the shift, news was treated as part of the money making portion of business. Therefore, the choice of which news items to bring up and, more importantly, HOW these news items are reported shifted into a style that generates money instead of a style that lives up to high journalistic standards. Hence you saw a rise in hollywood style coverage of events where they dwell on the personal suffering of individual people instead of fuss about the five Ws of who, what, where, when and most importantly WHY.
So, whereas NPR will say that a bombing took place in an Israeli settlement and that this bombing was a result of X and caused Y damage and the Israeli government haz done Z in retalliation, CNN would have Anderson Cooper standing by a pile of rubble interviewing this distraught Israeli mother who describes how her pet cat was in the house when the explosions went on.
The problme is that, no one told the viewers that. The majority of viewers up until the late 90s still regarded TV news as an authoritative source on news. No one told them that the mission statement for news coverage in their local TV station was rewritten with more emphasis on what sells than what's important.
People have started to figure this out, and more and more people are starting to trust TV news less and less. But I don't fault people's intelligence (I do fault their laziness in standing up against this and voicing their concerns).
As for your other question... The test is comprehensive. It's not just about how we do individually in our personal lives and whether we pray or not. It also extends into every aspect of how we interact with the outside world, whether we are kind, gentle, honest, abusive, .... and so forth. And a big part of that test is whether we will collectively choose as a society to use our taxes to fund a new football arena, but refuse to spend more money on the health care of our poor. A big part of the test is that our lives are very intertwined and the reprecussions of our choices do not just affect ourselves. --Karlos 20:48, 13 June 2007 (CDT)
I'm so sorry for interfering with a bit 'offtopic', so I restarted the indention for this message.
While reading your latest posts, Karlos, I got yet again confirmations on many of the differences which I knew to exist between the american and european (especially the finnish) systems. In Finland we are much closer to what you seem to hold as an ideal world. The media is as neutral as possible (unlike for example Fox TV in America). The difference between those with a lot of money and those with a little of it (I wouldn't really use the words rich and poor in Finland at all, everyone is closer to the avarage than one would imagine) isn't a big one in any aspect I could think of (education, awareness, possibilities, ...). Tax income is used to help everyone; we have free education, partially free and partially low cost health care, etc. I'm really happy to live here and I'm sad that these things are a lot worse in many other countries. --Image:Gem-icon-sm.png (gem / talk) 06:32, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
Yet, more people want to migrate to the US than Finland. :P You're looking at one negative angle that we're discussing. There are still positives and negatives to look at. The educational system here is almost unique in the whole entire world. Produces Americans to say the least. I admire a lot of things about it. So, not all is bad in the land of Mr.Bush. --Karlos 06:56, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
Every place has it's positive and negative sides. I didn't say that living in the US is necessarily worse than it is here, I just said that some of the things that you don't like in the US are done better here. (Btw, the migration thing might have something to do with the size difference ;) ) --Image:Gem-icon-sm.png (gem / talk) 08:02, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
And, for the record, I've wanted to emigrate to Finland for the last 6-8 years or so. :) —Tanaric 09:44, 14 June 2007 (CDT)

Copyright Question[edit]

Hey, so, I know that copyrights have been an issue in the Past for PvX, so I was wondering whether you could help me out a little. I've been attempting to write an RfA for PvXwiki, and, when it came to writing out the steps for nomination, I could not for the life of me figure out a way to phrase it differently then it is done on the RfA here. Since I don't really understand copyright law, I was wondering whether you could explain what (if anything) I need to do in order to comply with copyright law. The link can be found here. Please leave your response on the RfA policy's talk page to ensure that I see it. Thanks. 50x19px *Defiant Elements* +talk 00:32, 13 June 2007 (CDT)

Ideas can't be copyrighted, only expressions of those ideas. If there's no other reasonble way to state whatever it is, then it can't be copyrighted. In any case, if you ever want to use text from GuildWiki, you can always just acknowledge you took it from here, since PvX uses the same license. (By the way, the footer on PvX says CC NC-SA 2.5, which is different from CC BY-NC-SA 2.5.) --Fyren 03:11, 13 June 2007 (CDT)

Small Q...[edit]

Why does it show User:Tmarosi's monk's total maxed titles but not my ele's? --Karlos 08:48, 13 June 2007 (CDT)

He had the template explicitly not showing the count for rank 3. He probably didn't know you could get more than 15. --Fyren 09:00, 13 June 2007 (CDT)
I knew, but figured it wasn't worth showing. I wrote all the title templates to omit the progress toward that title once the max title had been reached. This was one of the reasons I initially left all the templates in userspace -- everybody's going to want something a little different from them.
Looks like one of you guys changed it. Personally, I liked it better the other way, but since I don't have any characters with any maxed titles, I'm not going to argue. :)
Tanaric 09:22, 13 June 2007 (CDT)
For the other titles, it's reasonable to think there won't be any more ranks coming. But for the maxed titles title, you can in theory get more than 30 PvE titles alone and additional ranks have been observed on the alpha server. --Fyren 10:00, 13 June 2007 (CDT)
I had intended to change it once the additional titles were added, but like I said earlier, I don't care too much. —Tanaric 10:04, 13 June 2007 (CDT)
Thanks. Technically, Tanaric, it's relevant to show whether the character has 15 or 23 titles. 15 is much easier than 23. Having 23-25 means you've done the dirty ones (cartographer and vanquisher) and the trivial ones (sweet tooth and drunkard). --Karlos 11:13, 13 June 2007 (CDT)

Guildwiki[edit]

Hey, when I loaded the site today (wich did it realllly-really-really slow) I had 2 popups, wich I never had before. Is this permanent, or is it my computer/internet that is acting strange? —ShadyGuy 19px 08:04, 14 June 2007 (CDT)

Slowness may be our fault. If you're using IE, I'd sooner think you've got malware problems. My popup blocker would have informed me if I ever got one here. --Fyren 08:27, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
The wiki is slow indeed, but no pop-up block notices for me either. --Image:Gem-icon-sm.png (gem / talk) 09:04, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
HM, I don't have it know, should be something else. I am using IE, is that the problem my pc is slow? —ShadyGuy 19px 11:23, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
Do you have any malware scanners on your system? If not, some moderately good free ones are at [1] and [2] (note, the second one will try to convince you to get the paid-for version, just follow the links for the free version). Once you install them, run the programs. If you've never used something like this before, they'll likely find a ton of entries (mainly cookies, but likely other things as well). They then give the option to delete what they find. Note: some "free" programs (not the two above) actually install malware of some type along with themselves, and if these programs find that malware and you choose to remove it, that can result in the "free" product no longer working. I would say if it requires malware to use, then you don't need it - but it's your own call. --- Barek (talkcontribs) - 11:49, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
Some good Internet common sense will get you a lot further, though it perhaps requires more work. I've been fine, even on Windows systems, without a virus or malware scanner for years.
  1. Don't visit sites with Internet Explorer. Ever.
  2. Don't download things unless you're sure you know what you're getting. For example, keygens or porn archives often contain malicious code.
  3. Don't read email with Outlook Express. Ever.
  4. Don't open email attachments from people you don't recognize.
Follow some simple guidelines and your computer will run as well as Windows will let it.
Tanaric 12:59, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
The problem is, that my sister owns teh computer, so she stumbles around all sorts of pages (wich I don't want to know) and so I don't know if she opens weird things. Btw, Guildwiki is acting very slow the last weeks(s). —ShadyGuy 19px 16:06, 18 June 2007 (CDT)
Yea, I noticed the slowness too. Why don't you give Firefox a try? Or Opera? --Ab.Er.Rant Image:User Aberrant80 Sig.png (msg Aberrant80) 02:49, 19 June 2007 (CDT)
Opera, firefox 2 is baaaed slow. — Skuld 04:27, 19 June 2007 (CDT)
The current slowness is, unrelated to the browser. Our cache got reset with the upgrade to 1.10 and it is taking time to rebuild. —Tanaric 21:46, 19 June 2007 (CDT)
Hm, it is really faster on firefox. —ShadyGuy 19px 08:21, 25 June 2007 (CDT)

Deletion help[edit]

Hey, I've been updating my archive, replacing User:Yaki/<Buildname> with User:Yaki/Archive:Builds/<Buildname> and now I need help with the deletion of the old ones, since I'm to lazy to put deletion tags on every single one of them (after a few minutes of work I came to think of moving them instead, but whatever...). Could you delete all pages that link from this page along with the page itself? Would be great. Yaki 14:12, 14 June 2007 (CDT)

Done. Are those builds on your userpage written entirely by you? —Tanaric 14:33, 14 June 2007 (CDT)
No, Auron told me about that; I'm working on the "history-transfering" from PvXWiki, done with nearly half of them. Thank you very much for the help. Yaki 15:02, 14 June 2007 (CDT)

Icon[edit]

Just out of curiosity, what was User:Tanaric/Icon? Anything in the userspace that's used by several users sounds interesting (unless it is like a userbox or something). Image:Entropy Sig.jpg (T/C) 18:51, 23 June 2007 (CDT)

The main template is User:Tanaric/Character, my collapsible character templates that work with Template:TitleList to produce very readable wikicode. The Icon template was once used from the NavFrame template to provide a way to dynamically load character icons... but that's before I realized that {{p}} and the like existed. —Tanaric 18:54, 23 June 2007 (CDT)
The profession-icon templates been around for awhile haven't they; yet the /Icon has not been deleted until now...was there a problem with having to replace all the in-use copies or whatnot? I see how it's obviously totally obsolete and merited deletion in any case. Never knew about the /Character template, I think I'll mess around with that a bit if you don't mind. Image:Entropy Sig.jpg (T/C) 19:08, 23 June 2007 (CDT)
The problem was that I never realized the profession icon templates existed. I'm a newb. :) —Tanaric 22:20, 24 June 2007 (CDT)

Character template...[edit]

The new update (of determining level based on XP) breaks my page because I provide XP with delimeters. I do not want to provide XP undelimetered as it becomes hard to read if the char has 2 million XP or 20 million. Anyway around that. The code issupposed to allow you to post the level straight up, but because it checks XP first, it gives the error before it gets to that part. --Karlos 20:11, 23 June 2007 (CDT)

Sorry about that, I'll fix it now. —Tanaric 22:11, 24 June 2007 (CDT)
Okay, fixed. The dynamic calculation only takes effect if no level parameter is provided. I intended this with the initial update but forgot to test it properly. —Tanaric 22:19, 24 June 2007 (CDT)

PvXwiki and Real Vetting[edit]

A while back, you initiated a discussion in which you proposed that a dynamic rating system might be ill suited to a Wiki because any user was free to edit content. Since Real Vetting was implemented, we've been trying to tie up loose ends, and, in the process, I wrote this. Given your concerns on the subject, I was wondering whether you could read that policy and tell me to what extent that does or does not answer some of your previous concerns. 50x19px *Defiant Elements* +talk 17:50, 30 June 2007 (CDT)

I think that policy is written as well as a policy based around a system like that can be on a wiki. However, it still seems stupid to use a CMS as complicated as Mediawiki, implement a policy that requires only simple CMS features on top of it, and then deal with all the problems by hand. It would be far less effort to simply implement your own "Real Vetting" content management system from scratch than it would be to use Mediawiki as your backend. I honestly am not really concerned with whether you guys can handle the potential voting problems, rating problems, category problems, angry user problems, etc. -- if you just used the right software for the job from the beginning, you wouldn't need to deal with most of these problems at all.Tanaric 20:37, 30 June 2007 (CDT)
What can I say... I'm not the one who makes those decisions. Honestly, I'm not qualified to make them. But, I do appreciate the insight. 50x19px *Defiant Elements* +talk 23:29, 30 June 2007 (CDT)

Editing Profile[edit]

I tried copying and pasting the coding for the charater template to make an easier to access wiki page, but, I made my profile two days ago, so I'm a complete newb at this. However, no matter how many times I try, I get red lettering, as if it's a redirect link. Also, if I include a picture, it shows up as a tiny grey box. How do I fix this? Any help is appreciated, --Lady Raenef 18:57, 3 September 2007 (CDT)

=([edit]

Visit when you get the chance. Gl with the whole moving/settling thing, I know exactly what you are going through (Unless there is a reason unknown to me ofc) Readem (talk*contribs) 02:13, 7 September 2007 (CDT)

Your Thoughts..[edit]

If ever there was a time for you to provide leadership, this would be it. --Karlos 11:17, 11 September 2007 (CDT)

I regret ever defending the man. I regret putting any effort into this place at all.
We have absolutely no legal grounds to sue.
Tanaric 12:36, 11 September 2007 (CDT)
To clarify -- we have absolutely no legal grounds to sue Gravewit, as he didn't sell the database -- merely the domain name. The editors may individually have the right to sue Wikia, as it appears to be using these contributions in a commercial manner. The Free Software Foundation or Creative Commons themselves might be able to provide a launching point for this sort of lawsuit. Personally, I don't have the resources to initiate anything on my own behalf. —Tanaric 19:19, 11 September 2007 (CDT)

Stepping down[edit]

I would like to step down from my position as sysop. Please remove my administrative privileges. --84-175 (talk) 11:53, 11 September 2007 (CDT)

Sure. I'm retaining bureaucrat permissions for another three days so I can handle any other resignations, and then I'm resigning myself. —Tanaric 12:35, 11 September 2007 (CDT)
I had hung onto my admin ability mainly just to help out here while what's left of the community nominated new admin candidates. But, with this move, I consider it an opportune time to just call it a fun run while it lasted, and to duck out quietly. Real life keeps me busy enough already. When you get the chance, go ahead and remove my admin abilities as well. --- Barek (talkcontribs) - 13:29, 11 September 2007 (CDT)
In the light of recent events maybe I should mention that me resigning is not directly related to the move to wikia. It's been a decision that I've already been delaying to make way too long. --84-175 (talk) 14:48, 11 September 2007 (CDT)
My decision was likewise not directly related to the Wikia move ... that just became a nice clean transition point to use as an excuse to resign at this time. Due to activities in the real world which had already resulted in my resigning my sysop status on the GWW, I had already considered doing the same here - but was originally planning to remain semi-active here at least until new sysops were recruited on this wiki. However, the transition to Wikia seemed a clean breaking-off point to just resign now. For those wondering, I do question the legality of several aspects of the sale; but as I said above - those issues are not the cause of my decision - just a handy excuse to do what I had already been thinking of doing for other reasons. --- Barek (talkcontribs) - 15:12, 11 September 2007 (CDT)

As promised above, I have resigned my sysop and bureaucrat status. —Tanaric 20:19, 13 September 2007 (CDT)

I'm using Signet of Humility on Tanaric!...Well, I think you did the best job you could do, with that limited "power" you actually had. I'm sorry (speaking collectively) that GWiki didn't treat you better for what you did accomplish. Image:Entropy Sig.jpg (T/C) 20:32, 13 September 2007 (CDT)
Well I for one, am saddened to see all three of you "go", hope this does not mean you won't still be visiting the site, and continue making the valuable contributions as your available time permits (is it me, or does real life seem to be getting more busier every year?). Anyway, wanted to say something as a way of thanking you for all your efforts swatting vandals, and generally keeping this wiki on an even keel. --Wolfie 19px (talk|contribs) 20:36, 13 September 2007 (CDT)

Tanaric please don't resign :([edit]

I may not be the biggest contributor, but even I know that you are one of the movers and shakers of this wiki. The wiki will need you more than ever, because I'm sure most of the people here wouldn't want someone else doing your job. I don't know Gravewit well enough to comment on his business practices, but look at it this way: he's not going to be around anymore, so you won't have to put up with him. :) --Macros 12:56, 11 September 2007 (CDT)

I founded this wiki, along with Gravewit, Biro, Nunix, Fyren, Martin Lightbringer, and a handful of others that nobody remembers. I do not like where it has gone, and I cannot affect its course at this point. I see no reason to stay around. I'll remain nominally active -- i.e., I'll check my talk page -- but I will not put myself in the position of leading the wiki, to any degree, when it is clear that I do no such thing. —Tanaric 14:40, 11 September 2007 (CDT)
Straight answer yes or no: Tanaric will or will not have his duties performed by another user (i.e. "leadership")? Image:Entropy Sig.jpg (T/C) 03:17, 12 September 2007 (CDT)
Biro retains the bureaucrat position. Whether he'll act as I did is up to him.
If he chooses to resign, or if he rejects the role I played, I have no ready substitute.
Tanaric 12:51, 12 September 2007 (CDT)

Open Letter[edit]

GWiki was founded in late May of this year? I'm confused. I would fix the typo but I myself don't actually know when GuildWiki was founded. Image:Entropy Sig.jpg (T/C) 21:52, 13 September 2007 (CDT)

Heh, thanks. Fixed. —Tanaric 21:52, 13 September 2007 (CDT)
You know what? I've realized that I admire you too, Tanaric, albeit in a different way than I do others like Karlos. You've got guts, and you can be very eloquent and persuasive when you put your mind to it...Your comment, "If Karlos broke policy, then it deserves to be broken" shows that you're also not a stubborn adherent to past precedents and you feel that moral issues do have some clout even where "law" and "policy" forbid it. It makes me all the more sad that you had to resign, but I guess (after reading the Open Letter) if any of us were in your same posion we would do the exact same thing. Image:Entropy Sig.jpg (T/C) 22:19, 13 September 2007 (CDT)

FWIW, I find your open letter almost as disquieting as gravewit's cashing out. It reads like you're sad mainly because you missed the gravy train. IMHO, the bigger problem here is license violation---a matter of legality and principle---than which "founding fathers" were stiffed in the deal. This is intended as a friendly comment: I have no animosity towards you. Nor towards gravewit, really; he deserves to be reimbursed if indeed guildwiki was a net loss for him personally, though the longer he stays silent, the guiltier he seems. 193.52.24.125 02:04, 14 September 2007 (CDT)

I think you've misunderstood Tanaric's letter. And Gravewit has assuredly NOT been operating GuildWiki at a loss; there is really no question about that. His costs have been very low, largely because he managed to get other people to do all the work for him, and even donate to the cause, while he set the whole thing up to make him, and only him, money. I think a lot of the newer contributors don't realize just how much of an "absentee owner" Gravewit has been. From everything I've seen, GuildWiki succeeded for as long as it did in spite of Gravewit, not because of him. And I'd guess that's part of Tanaric's frustration -- the plans that he, Gravewit and others once had for building a set of community-driven game wikis were subverted into Gravewit's plan to cash out. And Gravewit has now gone 3 days without a single comment, and as you say, that should be very telling about his attitude towards this wiki. — HarshLanguage HarshLanguage 02:51, 14 September 2007 (CDT)

Wow Tanaric, I think that letter came straight from the heart ;) I don't like what happened to whe wiki either, but what's done is done. Thanks for all the contributions on this wiki and for having the guts write a letter like that to Gravewit. Silver Sunlight 19px 06:11, 14 September 2007 (CDT)

WHOIS lookup on "Guildwiki.org"[edit]

Just curious about your post at User_talk:Gravewit#An_Open_Letter. I did a domain name lookup, and the domain name gamewikis.org appears to have been transfered to Wikia. But the domain name guildwiki.org is currently owned by a "Tabor W." Is that Gravewit, or is that Martin Lightbringer's real name, or someone else entirely? I was just curious as to who actually owns the domain name now. A community split could be ultimately detrimental, but the potential does exist for the community to take control of its own future at this stage. It depends on who actually owns that domain and what they plan doing with it. --24.22.225.85 14:36, 14 September 2007 (CDT)

I looked that up too. I believe that Martin still owns that domain. —Tanaric 15:01, 14 September 2007 (CDT)
I had looked at User:MartinLightbringer(CS), and it mentions his real name is Tabor, so he does appear to be the owner of that domain. But there's no mention of a contact email address. Have you contacted him, or do you know how to contact him? Or would you rather not have this discussion on the wiki at this time? --24.22.225.85 15:09, 14 September 2007 (CDT)
Tabor Wells, I do believe.
Aye, that's his name. However, WHOIS information is often wrong -- he may have transferred control of that domain to Gravewit, which is why I said I believe that Martin still owns the domain. In any case, I've sent him a brief email summarizing the situation, and I've asked him to direct his response here. —Tanaric 17:49, 14 September 2007 (CDT)
If its possible to redirect guildwiki.org away from Wikia's site, would it be better for the community to point it at the official wiki instead of attempting a split and hoping to keep enough people to keep it going ?
That's a really good idea. —Tanaric 11:20, 15 September 2007 (CDT)
Please, someone with the tools do it now. SAVE OUR WIKI. Cory, please say you could do it. You are one of the handful left we can trust in, anymore :( Crookfighter 11:23, 15 September 2007 (CDT)
You could also designe me as leader. —ShadyGuy 11:26, 15 September 2007 (CDT)
While I appreciate the sentiment, Crookfighter, I'm sorry to say that I don't have the ability. I've contacted Tabor by his email WHOIS-registered email address. He's potentially the only person who could enact that change -- and that's only if he retains control of the domain name. Honestly, it's a pretty slim hope. —Tanaric 11:27, 15 September 2007 (CDT)
Someone who hasn't been here quite a lot recently, hope he can help but somehow I doubt that. Has been made sysop in august 2005 and, except for two exceptions, stopped contributing in august 2005? Also, just want to let you know I sympathize with all those who have been so much involved and now feel left behind. --- :Jill Bioskop X(T|C) 09:03, 21 September 2007 (CDT)
Actually, as I noted on the Wikia Move talk page, Tabor does retain control of guildwiki.org and has agreed to point the URL "where the community resides." —Tanaric 10:37, 21 September 2007 (CDT)
Ok, strike that. My excuses if I spoke to hasty. --- :Jill Bioskop X(T|C) 13:01, 21 September 2007 (CDT)
No problem. In a weird way, it's nice to know that so many people care so much about this wiki. —Tanaric 16:13, 21 September 2007 (CDT)

Are we still...[edit]

Are we still affiliated with ArenaNet or anything?
Just asking cause I've been gone for quite a while but I'm pretty sure an ad like this [3] would have been a no-no. >>— builds Azroth talk 12:38, 19 September 2007 (CDT)

We've been removing gold selling ads since the beginning of time. However, more crop up. Such is the nature of Google ads. Presumably, you can speak with Wikia tech staff about these ads. However, I don't who these people are nor how to get in touch with them. —Tanaric 13:54, 19 September 2007 (CDT)
I don't think this wiki is on Wikia's ad server yet, but once it is, we will be able to remove gold selling and other inpproproate ads. We already block ads with the word "gold" in them, and can also block any URL reported to us. Please email me (angela at wikia dot com) with any bad ad links and details of whether they were served by Google Ads, LookSmart or another host, and I will get them blacklisted as soon as possible. Angela 20:57, 19 September 2007 (CDT)

Re: Archives[edit]

OblivioWiki is under the CC license. However http://www.tanatopia.net/gwiki/ mistakenly says it's under GFDL. -User:PanSola (talk to the Image:Follower of Lyssa.png) 19:50, 29 September 2007 (UTC)

Thanks, fixed. —Tanaric 20:43, 29 September 2007 (UTC)